teachers of the year

PULASKI COUNTY, Ark. -- For the first time, the Pulaski County Special School District (PCSSD) is participating in the Arkansas Teacher of the Year program. 

Through a rigorous selection process, each of PCSSD’s 25 schools as well as the Center of Innovation, selected one educator as their school teacher of the year. A panel made up of District and school-level administrators will review the school-level teacher of the year. The District winner will be announced at a celebration banquet on Thursday, May 13.

PCSSD followed the Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) Teacher of the Year guidelines, including the teacher’s impact on school culture, leadership in and out of the classroom, and student connections.

The winner of the PCSSD Teacher of the Year will be submitted to DESE for consideration for the 2022 Arkansas Teacher of the Year.

Congratulations to our school-level winners:

Baker Elementary

Jamie Garmon

Cato Elementary

Lu Anne Bryan

Chenal Elementary

LaToria S. Randle

College Station Elementary

Tamara Caston

Crystal Hill Elementary

Erica Jo Zardo

Daisy Bates Elementary

Larisha C. Nelson

Harris Elementary

Erika Nicole Rainey

Joe T. Robinson Elementary

Melissa Elizabeth Atkins

Landmark Elementary

Johnny Richardson

Lawson Elementary

April Belcher

Oak Grove Elementary 

Kelly Espinda

Oakbrooke Elementary

Tasha Middaugh

Pine Forest Elementary

Anna Elizabeth Sands

Sherwood Elementary

Melody Ann Carson

Sylvan Hills Elementary

Candace Blackwell

William Jefferson Clinton Elementary

Carole Ann Kearby

Center of Innovation

Sharon Howard

Joe T. Robinson Middle 

Damon Harris

Maumelle Middle 

Ashley Washam

Mills Middle

Kwadjo Boaitey

Sylvan Hills Middle

Shanon Carol Hum

Joe T. Robinson High

Edmond Hampton

Maumelle High

Jennifer Lynn Emfinger

Mills University Studies High 

Taylor Lehman

Sylvan Hills High Main

John Havel

Sylvan Hills High North

Delexious Hortavia Curtis

The PCSSD Teacher of the Year Banquet will be held Thursday, May 13 at the Wyndham Riverfront at 9:30 a.m. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the event is closed to the public.