pcssd science fair

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Nearly every school in Pulaski County Special School District participated in the annual Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fair on Friday, February 7 at UA-Little Rock. This was the culmination event of all science fairs for third through 12th grade students of PCSSD.

More than 100 students participated in this year’s science fair contributing almost 150 different projects. All elementary and middle schools took part in the fair and three out four high schools participated as well. This year’s participation was higher than years past due to the high schools joining in on the science fair.

Pictures from the science fair can be found on the PCSSD Facebook page.

The categories were broken down by high school, middle school and elementary with overall winners as well as category winners. The categories were behavioral science, chemistry, earth and environment, engineering, life science and physics. Winners will advance to the 38th Annual Central Arkansas Regional Science and Engineering Fair (CARSEF) on March 6, 2020. 

HIGH SCHOOL - Overall Winners

  1. Eric Nguyen, Christian Garza, Phat Lu, Dalen Woods - Maumelle High

  2. Faith Kelly - Sylvan Hills High 

  3. Daniel Csege - Maumelle High 

HIGH SCHOOL - Categorial Winners

  • Behavioral Science - Joree Pierre Antoine - Maumelle High 

  • Chemistry - Jayla Stirgus, Aiden Davis, Jasmine Elliott, Sylvan Hills High School North

  • Earth and Environment - Faith Kelly, Sylvan Hills High School North

  • Engineering - Eric Nguyen, Christian Garza, Phat Lu, Dalen Woods - Maumelle High 

  • Physics - Chloe Linn Maldonado, Mills High School

MIDDLE SCHOOL - Overall Winners

  1. Brayden Miller - Sylvan Hills Middle 

  2. Aislin Falasco - Robinson Middle 

  3. Arden Carroll - Robinson Middle 

MIDDLE SCHOOL - Categorial Winners

  • Behavioral Science - Leah LeVar, Sylvan Hills Middle 

  • Chemistry - Jordan Knight, Mills Middle 

  • Earth and Environment - Arden Carroll, Robinson Middle

  • Life Science - Aislin Falasco, Robinson Middle

  • Physics - Cross Kinzler, Nathan Johnston, Mason Parrish, Robinson Middle 


  1. Sharanya Samanta - Baker Elementary

  2. Peyton Myers - Chenal Elementary

  3. Sophie Carroll - Baker Elementary

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL - Categorial Winners

  • Behavioral Science - Makila Stogner, Clinton Elementary

  • Chemistry - Tatum Roberts, Pine Forest Elementary

  • Earth and Environment - Peyton Myers, Chenal Elementary

  • Engineering - Riley McCauley, Oakbrooke Elementary

  • Life Science - Sharanya Samanta, Baker Elementary

  • Physics - Adam Csege, Pine Forest Elementary

Volunteers came from the schools and surrounding community to judge the projects. In addition to our science fair judges, several community partners assisted with the success of this year’s event. Special thanks to Mr. Keith Harris with UA-Little Rock for his dedication and support. The following groups were vital in the execution of this year’s science fair:

  • PCSSD IT Department

  • PCSSD Alpha Teachers

  • PCSSD Dyslexia Interventionist 

  • UAMS Division of  Minority Services

  • Innovation Hub

  • UALR STEM Education Center

  • UALR Faculty and Staff